Change the World

Hello, everyone!

For those of you who don’t know, about 3 years ago, God placed a calling on my heart to dedicate my life to music ministry. I came to the realization that Jesus is the only reason that I can sing, therefore I should use my gifts and talents to serve and worship Him only. I have been attending Truett- McConnell College for the past 2 years and am currently working on getting a Bachelor of Arts in Music with a concentration in Contemporary Worship. I have been studying God’s Word and honing my musical skill in order to be as effective a leader as possible. I have learned that there are many forms of worship: worship that expresses the heart, worship that transforms the mind, and a worship that requires physical action to take place. I believe that true worship of God involves all three of these aspects. Mark 12:30 even tells us to, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.” True worship is something far greater than sitting in church, listening to a preacher, and singing songs. It is a lifestyle! As Christians, the greatest form of worship we can show is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever through every aspect of our lives.
This is what I hope to teach and demonstrate to people this summer. I have a job with World Changers as their Music Leader for the West Virginia and Virginia team. World Changers partners with NAMB and Lifeway. It “equips you with missions opportunities that meet real needs and demonstrate God’s love. The groups that attend will experience the needs and heartbeat of the city while learning about its history and culture. World Changers seeks to provide Christian youth and adults with opportunities to serve a community physically and spiritually through practical learning experiences that teach servant-hood and a personal commitment to missions.” I am so excited to get this opportunity to pour into the lives of the students and adults that attend, and I truly pray that God uses me to make a difference in their world, as they seek to make a difference in the lives of others. I am honestly a little nervous, but I’m going to trust God and what He has in store for me and my team.
If you ever think about it, your prayers and encouragement would be greatly appreciated. I will try and keep in touch as much as I can. I leave for training in Nashville tomorrow!! I can’t wait to see how my life will be changed through working this summer. 

Blessings!
Abbey

Leave a Reply

