I am a nobody.

In the world we live in….image is everything. How people view us determines our worth. Weakness is never an option. We have to push forward and be stronger than we were yesterday. We cannot fail. We cannot make mistakes. What people think about us determines who we are. It guides the choices we make in life and gauges our success. People are searching. They are looking everywhere for that one thing that makes them feel like they have it all together. That one thing that makes them feel strong. That one thing that makes them feel accepted. That one thing that makes them truly feel loved.

 

But what if it we just don’t have it all together? What if we wake up one day and realize that the facade is over? What happens when we’re at the breaking point and we have no where else to run? Nothing else to seek after. Nothing else to dedicate our lives to. No one to ease our emptiness inside. Now what?

 

Why is it so hard to admit that we are weak…that we fail? Why is it not OK to not be OK? Why do we feel this enormous pressure to make something of ourselves? To be someone.

 

I have decided that I am going to be a nobody. In the eyes of the world I am choosing to not be the image of success. I am sick of the charades of life-sick of chasing after things that are temporal. I want to seek after what is eternal. I am choosing to be weak so that God may be my strength. I do not have it all together. But He does. For the sake of Christ- I am content to be nothing. I don’t want to live for myself. I’m getting rid of my own agenda. The only thing/person that is worth seeking after, is the Lord. Everything else is vain. You can strive for all of the strength, power, and success in this world…and still feel empty. You can search for things to fill the longing in your heart for acceptance and love, but you will never find it apart from truly dedicating your life to Christ. No matter what happens in our lives..no matter how many times we mess up..He will never fail. He will always be there to guide us, every step of our lives. We just have to let Him. Let us be a people who walk by faith- a people that let the love of Christ control our thoughts, decisions, and actions. Let us trust. May our very lives make known the grace of God.

 

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 “He has said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.’ Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong.”

 

 I am a nobody.

2 thoughts on “I am a nobody.

Leave a Reply

